The Blacksmith Shop

The Big Stone Mills

Thirty-seven different water mills operated in Winneshiek county since the first one was established in 1843. Big Stones is one of three remaining mills in the county. Built in 1865, this grist mill was powered by a 48″ Leffel hydraulic turbine. A spar dam contained the mill pond. In the early years, the mill’s principal … [Read More]

The Old School

The St. Wenceslaus 1870 Old School has been a fixture in Spillville for over 134 years. The school is the oldest Czech parochial school in America. The school also served as a residence for a distinguished pioneer educator (J. J. Kovarik and his family). It was used for over 75 years as home for teaching … [Read More]

St. Wenceslaus Catholic Church

St. Wenceslaus is the oldest Czech Catholic Church in the United States. It was built with the hard work and generosity of Czech settlers that imigrated to the area. The original church was completed in 1860. A bell tower was added in 1869 and the sanctuary and transept were completed in 1873. The original pipe … [Read More]

Riverside Park

Riverside Park, home of the Inwood is nestled on the banks of the Turkey River. Many people come to the park for baseball games, celebrations and especially the annual Independence Day fireworks. The Inwood Ballroom is one of the few remaining ballrooms in Iowa. The Inwood’s first dance was May 10, 1922. That was just … [Read More]

Sailors & Soldiers Memorial Bandstand

The Memorial is located in the center of town. The bandstand was built with the sweat and loyalty of Spillville community members to honor those that served for the cause of liberty and equality. The Civic Improvement Association held dances to raise the money to build the memorial. The Memorial was dedicated on July 4, … [Read More]